top of page


Assessment is an integrated part of teaching and learning in our SD57 schools.

Assessment Feedback Cycle.png

Standards-based Assessment

Assessment in SD57 is standards-based as per the B.C. Ministry of Education’s guidelines.

  • Assessment is how teachers and our education system measure each student's success in those studies.

  • Assessment is part of teaching.

  • Assessment is equity.

  • SD57 Assessments are formative.

Standards-based assessment supports a criterion-referenced approach to evaluation and enables teachers, students, and parents to compare student performance to provincial standards.

Standards-based Assessment

BC Curriculum Learning Standards

The learning standards are explicit statements of:

  • what students are expected to be able to do in a given grade or area of learning

    • The Curricular Competencies are the skills, strategies, and processes that students develop over time.

  • what students should know in a given area of learning at a particular grade level

    • The Content learning standards detail the essential topics and knowledge at each grade level.

BC Performance Standards

  • Reading (Grades 1-10, English, French Immersion and Francophone)

  • Writing (Grades 1-10, English, French Immersion and Francophone)

  • Numeracy (Grades 1-8, English and French Immersion/Francophone)

  • Social Responsibility (Grades 1-8, English and French Immersion/Francophone)

  • Healthy Living

Evidence-based Assessment

Quality assessment is evidence based. Quality evidence is gathered over time. Evidence should be triangulated from three different sources: products by the student, observations by the teacher, and conversations “...between student and teacher, between student and student, and between the student and him- or herself.” (Sandra Herbst and Anne Davies)

Evidence-based Assessment
Evidence of Learning Image.png
Supports for High Quality Assessment
Supports for High Quality Assessment
SD57 Secondary Science Competencies Continuum

Includes progressions of quality (learning scales) for the science curricular competencies for Grades 7 through 12

Connect 2 Learning

Anne Davies and Sandra Herbst

Includes Seven Actions of Assessment for Learning

7 Actions of Assessment for Learning.png
Derek Bok Center for Teaching and Learning

A revised visualization of Bloom's taxonomy that better highlights the value of creating, evaluating, and analyzing.

Assessment Events
bottom of page